LIAG / Institute / About us / Committees / Governing Board 

Governing Board

The governing board is responsible for the overall technical supervision of the institute and makes decisions on high priority aspects.


The governing board has 11 members: 

  1. two representatives each from the German government and the state of Lower Saxony; they can be represented by members of their administrations;
  2. the chairman of the Science Committee as a permanent member; representation is possible;
  3. a representative of a university;
  4. two representatives of the "National/state geosciences committee" (excluding the German government and the home state);
  5. a representative from the "Circle of directors of the state geological surveys and the Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources" (excluding the German government and the home state);
  6. a personality from the industrial sphere;
  7. a personality from the geoscientific sphere.
Name Institution Position
Prof. Dr. T. Bohlen Karlsruher Institut für Technologie KIT 2
MR N. Conrad (Vorsitz) Nds. Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Arbeit, Verkehr und Digitalisierung 1
T. Haupt Geologisches Landesamt Hamburg 4
Dr. P. Hoth (stv. Vorsitz) Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie 1
MR Dr. W. Junker Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung 1
Dr. M. Neubert Baker Hughes 6
Dr. B. Panteleit Geologischer Dienst für Bremen GDfB 4
ltd. GD S. Rosenbaum Landesamt für Landwirtschaft, Umwelt und ländliche Räume Schleswig-Holstein 5
B. Sievers Nds. Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur 1
Prof. Dr. J. Tronicke Universität Potsdam, Institut für Geowissenschaften 7
Prof. Dr. B. Urban Leuphana Universität Lüneburg, Institut für Ökologie 3