LIAG / Institute / About us / Committees / Scientific Advisory Board 

Scientific Advisory Board

The scientific advisory board advises the other committees of the institute on all aspects of importance for the scientific work of the institute.


The scientific advisory board is made up of nine eminent scientists from various institutions of which 

  1. four in the university sector
  2. three in the national and state geological surveys,
  3. two from industry or other non-university research institutes.

They should all be active in a geoscientific or geoscientific-technical field, or with the necessary experience. Two scientists should be from abroad. One scientist should be from Leibniz University Hannover. 

Name Institution (s. a.)
Bohlen, T., Prof. Dr. (stellv. Vorsitzender)Karlsruher Institut für Technologie KIT 1
Eckhardt, J.-D., Prof. Dr.Landesamt für Geologie, Rohstoffe und Bergbau im Regierungspräsidium Freiburg 2
Kuras, O., Dr.Environmental Science Centre Keyworth 2
Lang, A., Prof. Dr.Universität Salzburg 1
Massmann, G., Prof. Dr.Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg 1
Maurer, H., Prof. Dr.ETH Zürich 1
Neuweiler, I., Prof. Dr.Leibniz Universität Hannover, Institut für Strömungsmechanik und Umweltphysik im Bauwesen 1
Orlowsky, D., Dr.DMT GmbH Explorationsseismik & Geosurvey 3
Uenzelmann-Neben, G., Dr. (Vorsitzende)Alfred-Wegener-Institut für Polar- und Meeresforschung 3