LION

LION

The Indian Monsoon system influences the lifes of many million people, while its activity in the past is only partly known. For past reconstructions, marine geoarchives play a dominant role although these are more indirect and smoothed due to transport processes from precipitation region to the marine realm.

Here we propose investigating loess-paleosol sequences in Kashmir, northern India. These geoarchives will be utilized for reconstructing relative fluctuations in precipitation and for obtaining an improved insight into past Indian Monsoon dynamics.

We will use rock magnetic methods, calorimetry and grain size composition as proxy data for past environments. The timing will be determined by luminescence dating.

This research proposal is planned to provide high-resolution proxy data from Kashmir loess, yet missing in the context of Eurasian loess research. If successful, a longer-term work is planned in the region.

Team

Project Management

Dr. Christian Zeeden

Project Group

Dr. Sumiko Tsukamoto

Dr. Christian Rolf

 

Funding

LION

LION

Das indische Monsunsystem beeinflusst das Leben vieler Millionen Menschen, während seine Aktivität in der Vergangenheit nur teilweise bekannt ist. Für bisherige Rekonstruktionen spielen marine Geoarchive eine dominierende Rolle, obwohl diese aufgrund von Transportprozessen von der Niederschlagsregion in den marinen Bereich eher indirekt und geglättet sind.

Hier schlagen wir vor, Löß-Paläosol-Sequenzen in Kaschmir, Nordindien, zu untersuchen. Diese Geoarchive werden zur Rekonstruktion relativer Niederschlagsänderungen und zur Erlangung eines besseren Einblicks in die Dynamik des indischen Monsuns in der Vergangenheit genutzt.

Wir werden gesteinsmagnetische Methoden, Kalorimetrie und Korngrößenzusammensetzung als Proxy-Daten für die Bestimmung der Paläoumweltbedingungen verwenden. Das Zeitgerüst wird durch Lumineszenzdatierung bestimmt.

Dieser Forschungsvorschlag soll hochauflösende Proxydaten von Kaschmir-Löß liefern, die der eurasischen Lößforschung noch fehlen. Bei Erfolg ist eine längerfristige Arbeit in der Region geplant.

Förderung

DFG